Dutch museums closed until 1 June

From the Van Gogh Museum to the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam, from Frans Hals and Teylers Museum in Haarlem and Kunstmuseum and Louwman Museum in the Hague: as a result of the stricter measures taken by the government on 23 March the major museums will remain closed in any case until 1 June 2020. The smaller museums are expected to follow.

In the press conference of 23 March 2020, prime minister Mark Rutte announced that all meetings will be banned until 1 June (instead of 6 April), also with less than 100 people.

Galleries are usually open by appointment.

Museums do their best to give virtual tours through their collections or exhibitions, and to give cultural tips for at home.

Latest posts by Arianna (see all)